Alabama Criminal Statute of Limitations Laws
A “statute of limitations,” in the criminal law context, is a law that limits when a person can be taken to trial for a crime he or she is suspected of comitting. One of the reaons for this is to ensure that the evidence and witnesses' memories are fresh when a case goes to trial. However, some crimes have no limit to when they can be tried, usually because of their especially violent or malicious nature, such as murder or sex crimes with child victims.
The following table details the criminal statute of limitations in Alabama.
|Code Sections||Alabama Code Title 15: Criminal Procedure, Chapter 3: Limitations on Prosecution|
|Felonies||There’s no limit to when some felonies can be tried, including:
|Misdemeanors||All misdemeanors, unless otherwise stated, must have an action started against you within 12 months of the commission of the crime.
Conversion of state or county revenues must be started within 6 years of the conversion (even if a felony offense).
Unlawfully taking or using another person’s property temporarily must begin prosecution within 30 days of the offense.
|When Prosecution Commences||The prosecution is deemed to have started, for the purposes of the statute of limitations when there’s been:
|Acts During Which Time Limit Doesn’t Run||The time elapsing between the first attempt to indict a defendant (which fails as the indictment is lost, destroyed, the grand jury charges no offense, or for another reason it was dismissed) and the subsequent indictment must be deducted from the time limit for the prosecution of the offense last charged. That means, if the prosecution stops with one indictment and later starts with another, that time is counted towards the limit, whether its 12 months, 3 years, or another time period.|
Note: State laws are changing all the time, it’s important to verify any state laws you are researching by conducting your own legal research or by contacting an experienced Alabama criminal defense attorney.
Research the Law