Are You a Legal Professional?

Alabama Marriage Age Requirements Laws

We’ve all probably daydreamed about it in our teens: running off with your first crush and getting married. And parents have surely worried about their children doing the same. But for that marriage to be legal in the Yellowhammer State, certain age requirements have to be met first. And that age generally depends on whether the kids have permission from their parents to get hitched. This is an introduction to the marriage age requirements in Alabama.

State Marriage Age Laws

While a few states have no statutory age limits on marriage, Alabama’s marriage age laws require parental consent for minors aged 16 to 17. In addition to parental consent, a $200 bond must be placed with the state for minors, but will be void “if there is no lawful cause why such marriage should not be celebrated.” Once you turn 18, however, you can get married as long as you meet the marriage license requirements.

Marriage Age Statutes in Alabama

Marriage age laws in Alabama are highlighted in the table below.

Code Section

Code of Alabama 30-1-4, 5: Minimum age for contracting marriage; Consent of parents and bond required for marriage of certain minors.

Minimum Legal Age With Parental Consent

Male: 16; Female: 16

Minimum Legal Age Without Parental Consent

Male: 18; Female: 18

Comments

Marriage under 16 is voidable, not void. Marriage between 16 and 18 without parental consent is not grounds for annulment.

Marriage Requirements

Unfortunately, there are no fairytale weddings without a few legal hurdles, mainly meeting the technical marriage requirements and obtaining the actual marriage license. Alabama residents must submit a marriage license application to a County Court Clerk and provide full names and identification. Be aware that if either party was divorced in the 60 days prior to applying for the marriage license, he or she will not be eligible to be married unless he or she is getting remarried. The marriage license fee varies by county, so check with your local county clerk for fee details and any additional requirements, as some counties may require you to pay in cash.

Alabama Marriage Age Requirements Laws: Related Resources

The decision to get married is a big one, and state laws on marriage are subject to change. You can contact an Alabama family law attorney if you would like legal assistance with a marriage matter. You can also visit FindLaw's section on Getting Married for additional articles and information on this topic.

Next Step Search and Browse
Contact a qualified attorney.
(e.g., Chicago, IL or 60611)