Note: If you or someone you know is the victim of domestic violence, call the National Domestic Violence Hotline at 1-800-799-SAFE (7233), the Alaska Network on Domestic Violence & Sexual Assault, or your local police department.
Restraining orders, orders of protection, and protective orders are basically the same thing -- a court order requiring an alleged stalker or abuser (or someone else causing extreme apprehension) to cease all contact with the individual seeking the order. Contact includes not just physical proximity, but also phone calls, email, and any other type of communication. Most often, they are issued by courts to protect the victims of stalking or domestic violence. While restraining orders also may be used to protect celebrities from overly-obsessive fans, these instances are actually quite rare.
Alaska Protective Order Laws at a Glance
In Alaska, protective orders related to threats or acts of domestic violence remain in effect until the court orders its termination (six months for other acts). Anyone who violates a protective order in Alaska may have to serve up to one year in jail and up to $5,000 in fines. See the Alaska Court System's Family Law Self-Help Center to learn how to obtain a protective order.
Additional provisions of Alaska's protective orders statute are listed in the following chart. See FindLaw's Domestic Violence section for additional articles and resources.
|Code Section||repealed 18.66.100-18.66.180|
|Activity Addressed by Order||Enjoining contacts of domestic violence, communication or entering a propelled vehicle occupied by or possessed by party; excluding party from dwelling, award temporary custody; prohibit respondent from using or possessing weapons; request peace officer accompany petitioner; award custody; prohibit respondent from consuming controlled substances; pay costs|
|Duration of Order||Until further order of court for threats and acts of domestic violence 6 months for other acts|
|Penalty for a Violation of Order||Possible misdemeanor, up to 1 year in jail, up to $5,000 fine|
|Who May Apply for Order||Adult or minor through guardian ad litem or attorney|
|Can Fees Be Waived?||On the basis of indigency. No filing fees|
|Order Transmission to Law Enforcement||Copy of order transmitted to appropriate local law enforcement agency|
|Civil Liability for Violation of Order||-|
Note: State laws are constantly changing through the enactment of newly signed legislation, case law from higher courts, and other means. We strive to ensure the accuracy of these pages, but you also may want to contact an Alaska criminal defense attorney or family law attorney, or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Research the Law
Alaska Protective Order Laws: Related Resources
Contact a qualified attorney.