Alaska Stalking Laws

Note: If you or someone you know is the victim of domestic violence, call the National Domestic Violence Hotline at 1-800-799-SAFE (7233), the Alaska Network on Domestic Violence & Sexual Assault, or your local police department.

Stalking, defined as a pattern of malicious behavior that causes another person to fear for their safety or experience extreme apprehension, is not committed in a single act. Most stalking cases involve current or former domestic or romantic partners, typically after a divorce or breakup. Since the act is defined as a pattern of behavior, the specific acts considered stalking tend to vary from case to case. For example, repeatedly calling your ex-wife and screaming profanities at her -- especially after being told to stop -- may be considered stalking.

Penalties range from fines to prison sentences for particularly serious violations or repeat offenses. When someone makes a valid stalking (or domestic violence) complaint, the court may order protective order requiring the alleged stalker to avoid all contact for a specified period of time.

Alaska Stalking Laws at a Glance

Stalking is charged as a Class A misdemeanor in Alaska, punishable by up to one year in jail and a $10,000 fine. But first-degree stalking (defined by various aggravating factors) is a much more serious felony charge with a maximum five-year prison sentence.

See the following chart for additional details about Alaska's stalking laws. See Stalking and Domestic Violence and Domestic Violence Restraining Order FAQs to learn more.

Code Section 11.41.260 & .270
Stalking Defined as Knowingly engage in course of conduct that recklessly places another in fear of death or physical injury or in fear of death or physical injury of a family member (this includes all telephone, email, and other types of non-physical contact)
Punishment/Classification

An act of stalking in the 1st degree (Class C felony, up to 5 yrs. and/or $50,000) has one of the following elements present:

  • The offense is a violation of an existing order of protection
  • Victim is under 16 years old
  • Defendant possessed a deadly weapon while stalking
  • Defendant is a repeat offender
  • Defendant committed another serious crime, such as murder or kidnapping

Stalking in the 2nd degree is a Class A misdemeanor, punishable by up to 1 yr. and/or $10,000.

Penalty for Repeat Offense (see 1st degree stalking, above)
Arrest or Restraining Order Specifically Authorized by Statute? -
Constitutionally Protected Activities Exempted? -

Note: State laws are not static and may change at any time through the actions of legislators and high courts. You may want to contact an Alaska criminal defense attorney or family law attorney, or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.

Research the Law

Alaska Stalking Laws: Related Resources

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.