Arizona Leases and Rental Agreements Laws
The relationship between landlords and tenants is regulated at the state level, through lease and rental agreement laws. Typically, these laws place limits on how much of a security deposit a landlord may require and which types of discrimination are prohibited. Arizona lease and rental agreement laws do not require interest on deposits and deposits must be returned within 14 days of termination of lease.
See the following chart to learn more about Arizona's lease and rental agreement laws. See FindLaw's Rental and Lease Agreements section for additional articles and resources.
|Code Section||9-462.01(A) (11); 33-303, 342, 1321; 41-1491.14|
|Terms of Leases||Lease does not automatically renew but is converted into a tenancy from month-to-month|
|Deposits||Limit 1 months' rent; interest on deposit not required; deposit must be returned within 14 days of termination|
|Discrimination||No discrimination on basis of race, color, religion, sex, familial status, national origin; any municipality may establish age-specific community zoning and may restrict residency to head of household or spouse of specific age or older and prohibit minors; housing for older persons exempted|
|Uniform Residential Landlord & Tenant Act Adopted?||Yes|
Note: State laws are constantly changing -- contact an Arizona real estate attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.Related Resources for Leases and Rental Agreements Laws: