Arizona Overtime Laws

Your employer expects you to work hard and follow directions. In return, you should expect your employer to properly apply state and federal overtime pay laws. In Arizona, most employees are entitled to at least 1.5 times their regular rate for any hours worked beyond 40 hours in a week. There are numerous exceptions and exemptions to overtime rules, so it's easy to get confused. If you work in Arizona, it's worth money in your paycheck to become familiar with Arizona overtime laws.

Arizona Overtime Law Summary

This chart highlights key provisions of Arizona overtime laws.

State and Federal Statutes
Arizona Overtime Rules
  • State/Federal Overtime pay rate is 1.5 time the employees regular rate
  • Overtime is calculated based on the number of hours worked on a weekly basis (not daily)
  • No overtime pay required for working nights, weekends or holidays.
  • Comp time in only allowed for public employees
  • Employers can require mandatory overtime work
Filing a Wage Complaint

Note: State laws are subject to change. It's important to verify the information you read about by conducting your own research or consulting with an Arizona attorney.

Arizona Overtime Laws

Arizona does not have a specific overtime law. Instead it follows federal labor laws contained in the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). Under FLSA, employers are required to pay non-exempt employees overtime pay for any hours worked beyond 40 in a workweek. The overtime rate is set at 1.5 times an employee's regular wage. For example, if you make $11 an hour, you will be paid $16.50 an hour (1.5 x $11) for any overtime. Typically, hourly or salaried employees who earn under $455 per week ($23,660 per year) and who work in a non-exempt industry are eligible to receive overtime pay.

Overtime Pay for Working Nights and Weekends

Arizona employers are not required to provide overtime for working weekends or nights. An employer can offer extra pay as a matter of agreement between the employer and the employee.

Comp Time Instead of Overtime Pay

Private employers covered by FLSA generally may not offer compensatory time off (comp time) instead of overtime pay. Comp time is a practice where employees are given paid time off from work for the equivalent amount of time worked beyond 40 hours. However, state and county employees can take comp time. But any comp time earned must be used within 180 days or it is lost.

Who is Exempt from Federal Overtime Laws?

The FLSA does not apply to employees of businesses with annual gross sales of less than $500,000. However, when an employee works in "interstate commerce" by handling credit cards or processing mail, the employee is covered by overtime provisions regardless of the size of the business.

An employee's job can be considered exempt from federal overtime laws when the specific job duties and salary level meet all the requirements set by the U.S. Department of Labor. The following types of jobs are frequently exempt from federal overtime rules:

  • Executive
  • Administrator
  • Some commissioned retail employees
  • Outside Salespeople
  • Employees employed as "learned professional" (CPA, lawyer, executive chef)
  • Taxi Drivers

Got an Employment Law Issue? Get a Free Claim Review

You have the right to be fully compensated for the hours you work, including overtime pay. If you're being denied overtime pay or have any other wage issue, help is available. An experienced Arizona attorney can also help you recover lost wages and any damages caused by a denial of overtime pay. Get started today by receiving a free claim review to learn more about legal options.

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.