Arkansas Child Pornography Laws

Exploiting a child for the purpose of creating or distributing pornographic images is a horrendous crime that affects all corners of the United States. In order to combat these acts, child pornography crimes tend to carry heavy prison sentences and large monetary fines.

Arkansas child pornography laws punish not only the people who willfully engage in violating these laws, but also those who turn a blind eye to these acts occurring on their websites or in their homes. This is a quick summary of the child pornography laws in Arkansas.

Sexually Explicit Conduct With Minors  

The following table outlines the specifics of Arkansas child pornography laws.

Code Sections

Arkansas Code Title 5 Chapter 27: Offenses Against Children

Engaging Children In Sexually Explicit Conduct

Under Arkansas law, it is illegal for any person 18 years or older who employs, uses, persuades, induces, entices, or coerces any child to engage in or who has a child assist any other person to engage in any sexually explicit conduct for the purpose of producing any visual or print medium depicting the sexually explicit conduct.

A person convicted of this crime is guilty of a Class B felony for the first offense and a Class A felony for a subsequent offense.

Distributing, Possessing, Or Viewing Of Matter Depicting Sexually Explicit Conduct Involving A Child

Arkansas child pornography laws state that a person commits distributing, possessing, or viewing of matter depicting sexually explicit conduct involving a child if the person knowingly:

  • Receives for the purpose of selling or knowingly sells, manufactures, provides, trades, mails, delivers, transfers, publishes, distributes, circulates, disseminates, advertises, offers, or agrees to offer through any type of medium images that depicts a child or incorporates the image of a child engaging in sexually explicit conduct; or

  • Possesses or views through any type of medium that incorporates the image of a child engaging in sexually explicit conduct.

A person convicted of this crime is guilty of a Class C felony for the first offense, and Class B felonies for any subsequent offense.

Penalties

Under Arkansas law, a Class A felony results in a minimum of six years but no more than 30 years in prison, a fine of up to $15,000, or both.

A Class B felony carries a prison sentence of at least five years but no more than 20 years, a fine of up to $15,000, or both.

A Class C felony is punished by a minimum three years but not more than 10 years, a fine of up to $10,000, or both.

Being accused of child pornography crimes is extremely serious. If you've been charged with a violation of Arkansas child pornography laws and would like further legal assistance, you can contact an Arkansas criminal defense attorney through FindLaw. Visit FindLaw's sections on child pornography and other crimes against children for more articles and information on this topic.

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.