Arkansas Credit and Debit Card Fraud

Finding unauthorized charges on a credit card statement can leave many credit card holders in a dazed and confused state of mind. When these card holders realize that they have been victims of credit or debit card fraud, they often feel violated.

Arkansas' credit and debit card fraud laws try to reduce the occurrence of this identity theft crime by applying huge fines and lengthy prison sentences for those who violate these laws. This is a brief summary of credit and debit card fraud in Arkansas.

Preventing Identity Theft With Arkansas Credit And Debit Card Fraud Laws

The following table outlines Arkansas credit and debit card fraud laws.

Code Sections

Arkansas Code ยง5-37-207: Fraudulent Use Of A Credit Card Or Debit Card

What's Prohibited?

A person commits the offense of credit or debit card fraud in Arkansas if with purpose to defraud, he or she uses a credit or debit card or credit or debit card account number to obtain property or a service with knowledge that:

  • The credit or debit card or credit or debit card account number is stolen;

  • The credit or debit card or credit or debit card account number has been revoked or cancelled;

  • The credit or debit card or credit or debit card account number is forged; or

  • For any other reason his or her use of the credit or debit card or credit or debit card account number is unauthorized by either the issuer or the person to whom the credit card or debit card is issued.

Penalty

Violation of Arkansas' credit and debit card fraud laws constitutes a:

  • Class B felony if the value of all moneys, goods, or services obtained during any six-month period is $25,000 or more. A Class B felony carries a prison sentence of at least five years but no more than 20 years, a fine of up to $15,000, or both; or

  • Class C felony if the value of all moneys, goods, or services obtained during any six-month period is less than $25,000 but more than $5,000. A Class C felony is punished by a minimum three years but not more than 10 years, a fine of up to $10,000, or both.

  • Class D felony if the value of all moneys, goods, or services obtained during any six-month period is $5,000 or less but more than $1,000. A Class D felony is punishable by up to six years in prison, a fine of up to $10,000, or both; or

  • Class A misdemeanor if the value of all moneys, goods, or services obtained during any six-month period is $1,000 or less. A Class A misdemeanor is punishable by up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $2,500.

If you believe that you've been a victim of credit or debit card fraud, immediately file a complaint with the Federal Trade Commission. If you have been charged with committing credit and debit card fraud, search FindLaw for an Arkansas criminal defense attorney.

Visit FindLaw's sections on credit and debit card fraud and other fraud and finance crimes for more articles and information on this topic.

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.