Arkansas Tax Laws
Welcome to FindLaw's Arkansas Tax Laws section, which covers personal income tax, use tax, and the various types of consumer taxes levied in the state. Arkansas, like other states, has what is known as a "progressive" tax system in which higher income individuals pay a higher percentage of their income in taxes, while those with less income pay a smaller percentage. The highest marginal tax rate in Arkansas is 7 percent. In addition to Arkansas's 6.5 percent tax rate on most retail purchases, the state levies excise taxes on cigarettes, gasoline, and alcoholic beverages. Click on a link below to learn more about Arkansas's tax laws.
Get a Free Arkansas Tax Attorney Match
You might wonder if you can decipher the tax laws on your own. Whether in Little Rock or Fort Smith, the state tax rules and regulations are all the same, but you might be surprised to find out that cities and counties charge their own set of taxes in addition to state-mandated taxes. Why not learn more about how to maximize on your returns with help from a legal expert? Get more details about Arkansas's tax laws with a free case review now.