California Marijuana Laws
California marijuana laws changed drastically with the decriminalization of possession (under 28 grams) and legalization of medical marijuana under the Compassionate Use Act (Proposition 215). It is now akin to a traffic ticket and is only an infraction with no possible jail time involved. But possession with intent to sell, possession or sale of more than 28 grams, and non-medical cultivation of marijuana are still serious crimes in California that often carry prison sentences upon conviction.
Medical Marijuana Protections
In order to qualify for the protections afforded by California's medical cannabis laws, a person must be either a qualified patient or a primary caregiver. A person is considered to be a qualified patient if a physician recommends or approves of their medical use of marijuana. Typically, this means that the doctor will give a written recommendation to the patient as proof of the patient's status that entitles them to use, possess, and cultivate cannabis.
|Code Section||Health & Safety §11000, et seq.; 11357, et seq.; §11362.5 medical use of marijuana|
|Possession||Possession of any concentrated cannabis: prison in county jail up to 1 yr. or fine up to $500 or both; Up to 28.5 grams: infraction and fine of up to $100 (record automatically expunged after 2 years); Over 28.5 grams: prison up to 6 months or fine up to $500 or both; If over 18 and possession under 28.5 grams on grounds of school: misdemeanor and fine up to $500; Under 18 and possession under 28.5 grams on grounds of school: misdemeanor and fine up to $250; Second offense: up to $500 or up to 10 days in juvenile home program|
|Sale||Possession for sale: imprisonment in state prison 2-4 yrs. for transporting, selling, etc. If under 28.5 grams: misdemeanor and fine up to $100; Adults who give or sell to, hire or use, or induce a minor under 14 in transporting, selling, giving away, preparing or peddling any marijuana: state prison for 3, 5, 7 years; to a minor over 14: state prison for 3, 4, 5 years|
Note: State laws surrounding marijuana possession and cultivation are constantly changing. If you have been questioned, detained, or arrested on charges related to medical marijuana or otherwise, it is important that you contact an attorney who is experienced in handling cannabis related cases. -- contact a California drug crime attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Research the Law
- California Law
- Official State Codes - Links to the official online statutes (laws) in all 50 states and DC.
Related Resources for Marijuana Laws: