Are You a Legal Professional?

State Laws

Los Angeles Courthouses

Last updated: September 27, 2013

Los Angeles County is a huge metropolitan area with over 9.5 million residents. Much like its freeways, the county’s various courts can be complicated and confusing to navigate. Here we highlight four key court systems you are likely to encounter: the Los Angeles Superior Court, the California Central District Bankruptcy Court, the U.S. District Court for the Central District of California and the 2nd District Court of Appeal.

The Superior Court alone has over 600 courtrooms spread throughout 4000 square miles - from Pomona to Santa Monica and from Lancaster to Long Beach. Needless to say, there are a lot of cases passing through the doors every day. There are 46 different courthouses handling nine types of cases: Appellate, Civil, Criminal, Family Law, Juvenile, Mental Health, Probate, Small Claims and Traffic. For a complete list of all courthouses, click here.