Colorado Tenant Rights Laws

While Colorado provides many reasons to go and enjoy the great outdoors, every resident of the Constitution State hopes that their home life is a source of calm and respite as well. Unfortunately for some renters, that's not always the case, as conflicts can arise at any time in the landlord-tenant relationship. The article below discusses some important Colorado tenant rights laws that can help you navigate these issues.

Tenant Rights from Discrimination to Termination

In addition to federal and local laws, as well as the contractual terms of your rental agreement, Colorado state law includes rules governing issues from discrimination to security deposits and eviction. For example, state law protects you against discrimination based on race, sexual orientation, and familial status, among other characteristics. And discriminatory actions can include refusing to show, rent, or lease to someone, or offering different rental terms based on those protected traits.

During your tenancy, your landlord is also required to provide you with a habitable unit free of dangerous or hazardous conditions. This includes compliance with applicable building, housing, and health codes, while supplying running water and reasonable amounts of hot water. If your landlord breaches the warranty of habitability, you may be able to break the lease early or sue for damages.

These and other laws are designed to protect you against unfair practices within the landlord-tenant relationship. So it's also important to note that your landlord may not retaliate against you by raising the rent or evicting you simply because you exercise your tenant rights.

Colorado Tenant Rights Laws at a Glance

A summary of Colorado state laws governing the landlord-tenant relationship is provided in the chart below, including links to important code sections.

Statutes

Security Deposits

  • Limit: No statutory maximum
  • Must return all or part of the security deposit within one month, or according to lease (but not more than 60 days)
  • Part or all may be used for:
    • Unpaid rent or utility charges
    • Repair work for damage beyond normal wear and tear
    • Cleaning contract for by tenant
    • Abandonment of premises

Paying Rent

  • May not raise rent during lease term (e.g. 1 year lease) unless lease allows; may raise rent upon lease renewal

Living Conditions

  • Landlord must provide and maintain unit fit for human habitation (must be free from conditions materially dangerous or hazardous to tenant’s life, health, or safety), unless defect was caused by tenant’s misconduct

Discrimination

  • No discrimination based on disability, race, creed, color, sex, sexual orientation, marital status, familial status, religion, national origin, or ancestry

Ending or Renewing a Tenancy

  • Landlord must give notice to terminate the tenancy:
    • For one year or longer: 90 days
    • For six months to less than one year: 28 days
    • For one month to less than six months: seven days
    • For one week to less than one month, or tenancy at will: three days
    • For less than one week: one day
    • Eviction: three days
  • No notice required for rental agreement with set end date
  • Eviction: court order required

Retaliation

  • Landlord may not retaliate against tenant for exercising tenant rights

Note: State regulations are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.

Colorado Tenant Rights Laws: Related Resources

Receive a Free Evaluation of Your Tenant Issue

Whether you're facing a new repair issue or you've been battling your landlord for months, it can be difficult to navigate all of the federal, state, and local laws that might apply to your situation. Receive a free case review today to learn more about your rights and responsibilities under Colorado tenant rights laws.

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.