Are You a Legal Professional?

Connecticut Child Abuse Laws

Child abuse is a serious crime in Connecticut and around the country. Child abuse laws criminalize physical, emotional, or sexual abuse of minors and also require certain third parties with knowledge of the abuse to report it to the authorities. In Connecticut, professionals with access to children (such as day care center workers and pediatricians) are required to report suspected cases of child abuse.  

The following table touches on the basics of Connecticut child abuse law.

Code Section §17a-100, et seq., §46b-120
What Constitutes Abuse Injuries which are at variance with the history given of them or other than by accidental means; malnutrition, sexual abuse, exploitation, deprivation of necessities, emotional maltreatment, cruel punishment
Mandatory Reporting Required By Physician, nurse, medical examiner, dentist, psychologist, school teacher, coach, guidance counselor or principal, social worker, police officer, mental health professional, health professional, certified substance abuse counselor, day care center worker, therapist, clergy
Basis of Report of Abuse/neglect Reasonable cause to suspect or believe that any child is being abused or in danger of being abused
To Whom Reported Commissioner of Children and Families or designee
Penalty for Failure to Report or False Reporting False report up to $2000 and/or jail up to 1 year; Fined $500-$2500 and required to participate in educational training program

Child abuse is broadly defined as when a parent or caretaker emotionally, physically, or sexually buses, neglects, or abandons of a child. Child abuse laws are intended to protect children from serious harm while still allowing parents to raise and discipline their children as they see fit. Cases of child abuse are more frequent in the United States than most people realize: every year there more than 3 million reports of child abuse made, involving almost 6 million children. Four or five children are killed by child abuse or neglect every day.

If you suspect that someone is abusing a child, you can contact child abuse resources in your state or visit FindLaw’s Where to Get Help for Child Abuse section for more information on what to do.

Connecticut Child Abuse Laws Related Resources:

Physical, psychological, and emotional effects of child abuse can be extreme. You should always report possible child abuse cases to the authorities as soon as possible. For more introductory information about this topic, you can visit FindLaw’s child abuse section. If you would like to talk to a lawyer concerning an existing or possible case of child abuse, you can contact a Connecticut criminal defense attorney in your area.

Next Step Search and Browse
Contact a qualified attorney.
(e.g., Chicago, IL or 60611)