Connecticut Overtime Laws

Do you work in Connecticut and wonder if your employer owes you overtime pay? The good news is that there are plenty of opportunities to collect overtime pay in Connecticut. Not only does the state follow the overtime laws of the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), it also has its own state overtime law provisions. Mainly, Connecticut law requires employers to pay employees at least 1.5 times the employee's regular rate of pay for hours the employee works over 40 hours in one week.

Connecticut Overtime Law Summary

Certain key provisions of Connecticut overtime law are covered in the below table.

State and Federal Statutes

Overtime Calculation Methods:

  • Hourly: Pay time and a half (1.5 times the regular rate) for hours worked in excess of 40 hours per workweek.
  • Hourly Plus Bonus and/or Commission: Regular rate = Total hours times hourly rate, plus the workweek equivalent of the bonus and/or commission, divided by the total hours in the workweek; then pay half of that regular rate for each overtime hour.
  • Salary: Regular rate = Salary divided by the number of hours the salary is intended to compensate.
    • If the regular hours are less than 40: Add regular rate for each hour up to 40, then pay time and a half for hours over 40.
    • If the regular hours = 40: Pay time and a half for hours over 40.

Exempt from FLSA

  • The following classes of employees are not entitled to overtime pay in Connecticut (partial list)
    • Agricultural employees
    • Executive employees
    • Administrative employees
    • Professional employees

Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.

No Requirement to Pay Overtime on a Daily Basis

In Connecticut, contracts are honored over some overtime pay obligations, such as when overtime wages are paid. In other words, there is no requirement to pay overtime on a daily basis (for instance, if the employee works more than eight hours in one day), weekends, or on holidays, except by agreement or contract. These contracts that alter normal overtime pay requirements may be collective bargaining agreements.

Connecticut Overtime Exemptions

There are some specific employee exceptions to overtime pay in Connecticut. For example:

  • Agricultural employees
  • Executive employees
  • Administrative employees
  • Professional employees
  • Any salesman primarily engaged in selling automobiles
  • Any driver or helper where the U.S. Secretary of Transportation has the power to establish qualifications and minimum hours of service
  • Any outside salesperson as defined by the FLSA
  • Any employee employed as a seaman
  • Any employee employed as an announcer, a news editor or chief engineer by a radio station or television station
  • Any person employed as a taxicab driver by any employer engaged in the business of operating a taxicab
  • Any permanent paid members of the uniformed police force of municipalities and permanent paid members of the uniformed firefighters of municipalities
  • Any person employed as a firefighter
  • Beer delivery truck drivers
  • Mechanic primarily engaged in the servicing of motor vehicles
  • Mortgage loan originators

Research the Law

Get a Free Attorney Match

Connecticut overtime laws may be complicated because it has its own provisions. If you have any questions on Connecticut overtime laws, you may consult with a local attorney for a free, no-obligation case review.

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.