Florida Adoption Laws
Each state has its own set of laws governing adoption. These laws typically cover who qualifies and what they must do to adopt. As a result, individuals who are planning to adopt a child should become aquainted with their state's adoption rules and regulations.
Below, you'll find information related to Florida adoption laws, including regulations on who may adopt, child consent requirements, and the relevant procedures. If you still have questions about Florida adoption laws or adoption in general, take a look at our article on state adoption laws.
|Code Section||§§63.022-63.301; No|
|Who May Be Adopted||Any person|
|Age that Child's Consent Needed||12 years and older unless court dispenses with consent in best interest of the child|
|Who May Adopt||An unmarried adult who is not homosexual. Married person must be joined by spouse unless such spouse is parent and consents, or failure to join in consent is excused.|
|Home Residency Required Prior to Finalization of Adoption?||90 days|
|State Agency/Court||Dept. of Health & Rehabilitative Services/Circuit|
|Statute of Limitations to Challenge||1 year|
Note: State laws are constantly changing -- contact an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Research the Law:
Related Resources for Adoption Laws: