Florida Car Accident Report Basics

No matter if you're driving a Lamborghini down Collins Avenue like Crockett in Miami Vice or running your SUV through the Everglades, you will always face the risk of getting into a car accident in Florida. Once that happens, you may wonder what your obligations are under the law. According to state law in Florida, you're required to report an accident immediately to the Florida Highway Patrol or Police if any of the following occurs: (1) death or injury, (2) a hit and run accident, (3) an accident caused by an intoxicated driver, or (4) an accident that results in property damage of over $500. You must also file a car crash report in Florida with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) within ten days of the accident.

Florida Car Accident Report Overview

More information on Florida car accident reporting is compiled in the following chart, including instructions on how to file a car crash report in Florida.

State Statutes

Florida Statutes - Motor Vehicles ยง 316.065

When to Report:

If you're involved in a vehicle accident in Florida, you must report it to the Florida Highway Patrol or Police if any of the following apply:

  • any death or injury occurred;
  • it was a hit and run accident;
  • it was an accident caused by an intoxicated driver; or
  • there was property damage of $500 or more.

How to File a Car Crash Report in Florida:

To file a car crash report with the DMV in Florida (which must be done 10 days after the accident) you, your insurance agent, or your legal representative must complete the Crash Report. To fill out the Crash Report form, you will need to supply or gather the following information:

  • place and time of accident;
  • the name, address, and date of birth of all drivers or pedestrians involved in the accident;
  • the driver license information (State of license, license number) of all drivers involved in the accident;
  • the driver's license plate number and state of all drivers involved in the accident;
  • the name and address of all policy holders and the name of their insurance;
  • the name and address of all registered vehicle owners of vehicles involved in the accident;
  • an accident diagram form, including selecting vehicle movement, pedestrian action, vehicle defects, and other factors; and
  • a sketch of the accident from the bird's eye-view.

Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.

Exceptions to Florida Car Accident Reporting Requirements

If a Florida police officer filed a report on your accident, then you don't have to file a car crash report with the Florida DMV. Usually if an officer is called to the scene when an accident must be reported to the Police, they will take and write a report so that you will not have to file one with the DMV.

Duty of Garage Owners to Report Cars Struck by Bullets

According to Florida Law, any person in charge of any garage or repair shop has to make a report to the nearest police station or Florida Highway Patrol within 24 hours of receiving a motor vehicle that shows evidence of being struck by a bullet. The report shall contain the year, license number, make, model, and color of the vehicle and the name and address of the owner or person in possession of the vehicle.

Research the Law

Have Questions on How to File a Car Crash Report in Florida? Get a Free Case Review Today

If you're still wondering whether or not you need to file a car crash report in Florida, or have any other questions on the Florida car accident report requirements, you can talk with a local Florida attorney for a free initial case review at no obligation today.

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.