Florida Gun Control Laws
In 2005, a Florida passed the nation's first stand your ground law. The case of George Zimmerman's fatal shooting of Trayvon Martin then thrust Florida's new law onto the international stage. The law was the first of its kind to remove the duty to retreat before using force in self-defense. The Florida statute generally allows people to stand their ground instead of retreating if they reasonably believe doing so will "prevent death or great bodily harm."
Other states followed with laws specifically affirming one's right to defend themselves, even outside of their homes and with deadly force if necessary. But gun laws go beyond just so-called stand your ground statutes. Florida has a 3-day waiting period (excluding weekends and holidays) to purchase a gun.
Learn more about Florida gun control laws in the table below. See Details on State Gun Control Laws for more general information.
|Code Section||790.001, et seq.|
|Illegal Arms||Short-barreled rifle or shotgun, machine gun|
|Waiting Period||3 days excluding weekends and legal holidays|
|Who May Not Own||1. Minors (under 21); 2. Convicted felon (or 3 yrs. after sentence or probation fulfilled); 3. Has been convicted or committed for abuse of a controlled substance within last 3 yrs. 4. Anyone who chronically or habitually abuses alcohol or other substances; 5. Has been adjudicated incapacitated (or 5 yrs. after restoration of capacity) 6. Been committed to mental institution (unless free from disability for 5 yrs.) 7. Person subject to injunction against committing acts of domestic violence|
|Law Prohibiting Firearms On or Near School Grounds||Felony. 790.115, 810.095|
Note: State laws are constantly changing -- contact a Florida criminal defense attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Related Resources for Gun Control Laws: