Florida Leases and Rental Agreements Laws
Lease and rental agreements are governed by state laws, which define limits on security deposits, time limits for the return of deposits, and other provisions. State laws also limit discrimination by landlords. Florida leases and rental agreement laws place no limits on the amount of security deposits, but prohibit all the same types of discrimination laid out in the federal Fair Housing Act.
The main provisions of Florida leases and rental agreement laws are listed in the table below. See FindLaw's Landlord Tenant Law section for additional articles and resources.
|Code Section||83.04, 49; 760.23|
|Terms of Leases||Mere payment of rent is not construed as a renewal for the term; but if tenant holding over does so with written consent of landlord then it becomes a tenancy at will; otherwise tenancy at sufferance|
|Deposits||No limits on deposits; landlord may elect to (1) put deposit in non-interest bearing account; (2) hold in interest bearing account at either 75% of average rate or 5%; or (3) post a surety bond and pay tenant interest at 5%; landlord must tell tenant in 30 days which he's doing; must return deposit within 15 days|
|Discrimination||No discrimination on basis of race, color, national origin, sex, handicap, or religion; same as Fair Housing Act|
|Uniform Residential Landlord & Tenant Act Adopted?||Yes|
Note: State laws are constantly changing -- contact a Florida landlord-tenant attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Related Resources for Florida Leases and Rental Agreements Laws: