Georgia Gun Control Laws
States govern how their residents may purchase, own, and use firearms, including which types of guns and weapons are prohibited. Georgia gun control laws are relatively mild, with no waiting period to buy guns (but a 60-day waiting period for a license to carry a handgun). As in most other states, Georgia law prohibits convicted felons and mentally ill individuals from owning firearms.
Learn more about Georgia gun control laws in the following table. See Details on State Gun Control Laws for more general information.
|Code Section||16-11-121, et seq.|
|Illegal Arms||Sawed-off shotgun or rifle; machine gun; dangerous weapon ("rocket launcher," "bazooka" or "recoilless rifle," "mortar," "hand grenade") or silencer|
|Waiting Period||None, but 60 days for license to carry pistol|
|Who May Not Own||1. Convicted felon; convicted of offense arising out of possession, manufacture, or use of a controlled substance; fugitive from justice; pending proceedings for felony, forcible misdemeanor, for carrying deadly weapon within school safety zone or at public gathering; 2. Under 18 yrs. old; 3. Anyone hospitalized as inpatient at any mental hospital or drug or alcohol treatment center within 5 yrs. of applying for gun license.|
|Law Prohibiting Firearms On or Near School Grounds||Felony. 16-11-127.1|
Note: State laws are constantly changing -- contact a Georgia criminal defense attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Research the Law
- Georgia Law
- Official State Codes - Links to the official online statutes (laws) in all 50 states and DC.
Georgia Gun Control Laws: Related Resources