Georgia Marijuana Laws
The possession, sale, trafficking, and cultivation of marijuana is illegal in all states except Colorado and Washington (where it is tightly regulated by those states), while other states allow the medicinal use of cannabis. Georgia marijuana laws are relatively strict, but many counties in the state offer alternative sentencing programs for offenders, which offer treatment in lieu of jail time. Possession of more than 1 ounce of of marijuana is a felony in Georgia, punishable by one to 10 years in prison.
The following charts highlights the main provisions of Georgia marijuana laws. See FindLaw's Drug Charges section for more articles and resources.
|Code Section||16-13-30, et seq.|
|Possession||1 oz or less: misdemeanor, 1 yr. or $1,000 fine; more than 1 oz (but less than 10 lbs.): felony, 1-10 yrs.; over 10 lbs. is considered trafficking|
|Sale or Trafficking||Felony. 10 lbs or less: 1-10 yrs; 10-2000 lbs.: 5 yrs. and mandatory $100,000; 2000-10,000 lbs.: 7 yrs. and mandatory $250,000; Over 10,000 lbs.: 15 yrs. and mandatory $1,000,000|
Note: State laws are constantly changing -- contact a Georgia drug crime attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Research the Law
- Georgia Law
- Official State Codes - Links to the official online statutes (laws) in all 50 states and DC.
Georgia Marijuana Laws: Related Resources