Georgia Prostitution and Solicitation Laws

Definition of Prostitution and Solicitation in Georgia

In Georgia, prostitution is the act of offering, performing, or consenting to sexual conduct for payment, while solicitation is the act of seeking sexual services for hire. Both the prostitute and the customer, frequently known as a "John," can be prosecuted under the law.

Prostitution-Related Offenses In Georgia

Georgia prostitution laws prohibit several different acts including pimping, pandering, masturbation for hire, keeping a place of prostitution (brothel, prostitution house, etc), and giving massages in place used for prostitution.

Is It Illegal to Use An Escort Service in Georgia?

That depends. It certainly can be if you are paying another person to have sexual contact with you.

What About Human Trafficking?

One of the nation's toughest crackdowns on human trafficking has taken effect in Georgia. Penalties for people who run human trafficking rings is steep including 5-20 years in prison and a fine of $2,500 to $10,000. If the victim is under 16 years old, the crime is a felony and punishable by 10-30 years in prison and a fine of up to $100,000.

Additionally, victims of human trafficking are now afforded an affirmative defense against prosecution if he or she was being trafficked for sexual servitude.

If you or someone you know is a victim of sexual trafficking, consider seeking help.

Solicitation of Underage Persons

While it is illegal for people of any age to agree to or engage in sex for money, there are heightened penalties for soliciting a minor person under the age of 18 years old. It's a felony and will land you in prison.

The following table highlights the main provisions of Georgia's prostitution and solicitation laws.

See also State Prostitution Laws and Sex Crimes for more information.

Code Section

Georgia Criminal 16-6-9 through 16-6-17

What is Prohibited

Prostitution: Performance, offer, or consent to perform an act of sexual intercourse for money or payment.

Solicitation: Seeking sexual services for hire.

Penalties

Misdemeanor, penalties depend on the nature of the act and prior criminal history, probation, fines, jail or prison time, community service, possible lifetime registration as sex offender, and possible participation in sex education classes.

Enhanced felony penalties for solicitation of underage sex or sodomy ranging from $1,000 to $5,000 and a term of imprisonment.

Who Can Be Prosecuted The Prostitute and the Customer
What is Considered Payment? Money, gifts, favors, and other compensation

Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.

Get a Free Case Review from a Georgia Attorney

Because sex crimes laws can sometimes get complicated, it may also be a good idea to consult an experienced criminal defense attorney if you have questions about your specific situation. A Georgia criminal defense attorney will be able to answer your questions, explain the law, and any penalties you may be facing if you plead or are convicted. Learn more today with a free case review from a Georgia attorney.

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.