Georgia Wills Laws
A will is a legally binding document that details how the testator (the person writing the will) would like his or her property and affairs to be handled upon death. State laws governing wills are fairly uniform across all states, requiring the testator to be the age of majority and that the will be typed or printed. Georgia will laws, however, allow valid wills by testators as young as 14 and also allow oral wills under certain limited circumstances.
The following chart lists the main provisions of Georgia will laws. See FindLaw's Wills section for an extensive collection of related articles and resources.
|Code Section||§§53-4-10, et seq.|
|Age of Testator||14 years and not "laboring under some legal disability arising from a want of capacity or from a want of perfect liberty of action."|
|Number of Witnesses||Must be subscribed and attested in testator's presence by two or more competent witnesses; testator must sign/acknowledge signature in presence of two witnesses.|
|Nuncupative (Oral Wills)||Can be made only in time of last illness and must be proved by oath of at least two witnesses present at making testator must have told those present to bear witness that such was his will; must be reduced to writing within 30 days of speaking.|
|Holographic Wills||Not recognized|
Note: State laws are constantly changing -- contact a Georgia wills attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Research the Law
- Georgia Law
- Official State Codes - Links to the official online statutes (laws) in all 50 states and DC.
Georgia Wills Laws: Related Resources