Are You a Legal Professional?

State Laws

Chicago Courthouses

Last updated: September 30, 2013

If you live in Chicago metropolitan area, you know there are a myriad of courthouses throughout Cook County. All trial courts are under one system known as a “circuit court.” There are 24 judicial circuits within the state of Illinois. The Circuit Court of Cook County is the largest in the state and one of the largest unified court systems in the world with 400 judges serving 5.1 million residents within the City of Chicago and its 126 surrounding suburbs. To complicate matters even further, the Circuit Court is broken down into six districts. If you have a case in Chicago, it will be in the First Municipal District.

The different courts can be complicated and confusing to navigate. Fear not. Here we’ve highlighted five key court systems you are likely to encounter: The First Municipal District--Chicago (trial courts broken down by branches and case types), the Illinois Appellate Court: First District, the Illinois Northern District Bankruptcy Court, the U.S. District Court Northern District of Illinois, and the U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit.