Kentucky Indecent Exposure Laws

Indecent exposure is a type of sex crime that generally involves the exposure of one's genitals. Each state specifies which acts in various situations qualify as indecent exposure in their state. Kentucky's indecent exposure laws are broken down into two degrees. First-degree indecent exposure in Kentucky involves exposing your genitals to someone who is less than 18 years old, while second-degree indecent exposure is when the victim is over 18. Indecent exposure is a serious crime and can be elevated to a sexual assault if any physical contact is made.

The following charts highlight Kentucky's indecent exposure laws.

Code Section

Kentucky Revised Statutes section 510.148: First-degree Indecent Exposure

What's Prohibited?

Intentionally exposing your genitals when you know (or should know) that this conduct is likely to cause alarm to a person who is less than 18 years old.

Penalties

  • First offense: Class B misdemeanor.
  • Second offense: Class A misdemeanor (if it was committed within three years of the first conviction).
  • Third offense: Class D felony (if it was committed within three years of the prior conviction).
  • Subsequent offenses: Class D felony (if it was committed within three years of the prior conviction).

Code Section

Kentucky Revised Statutes section 510.150: Second-degree Indecent Exposure

What's Prohibited?

Intentionally exposing your genitals when you know (or should know) that this conduct is likely to cause alarm to a person 18 years old or older.

Penalties

Class B misdemeanor.

Penalties in Kentucky

Felony offenses:

  • Class D felony: Punishable by imprisonment for between one and five years and/or a fine of between $1,000 and $10,000.

Misdemeanor offenses:

  • Class A misdemeanor: Punishable by imprisonment for up to 12 months and/or a fine of up to $500.
  • Class B misdemeanor: Punishable by imprisonment for up to 90 days and/or a fine of up to $250.

Sex Offender Registry

In Kentucky, indecent exposure qualifies as a sex crime. Therefore, offenders who are convicted of indecent exposure in Kentucky (after July 15, 1994) are required to register with the state's sex offender registry. Additionally, sex offenders who move from another state to Kentucky must also register upon moving to Kentucky. Some sex offenders are required to register for 20 years while others have a lifetime registration requirement. See Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann ยง 17.520 (2012) for more information.

Additional Resources

State laws change frequently. For case specific information regarding Kentucky's indecent exposure laws contact a criminal defense attorney or a sex crime lawyer.

If you or someone you know has been the victim of a sex crime, such as indecent exposure, help is available by contacting your local police department or by contacting an organization dedicated to protecting victim rights.

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.