Louisiana Protective Orders Laws
|Code Section||46:2131 to 2142|
|Activity Addressed by Order||Enjoin contact; exclude from dwelling, school, work; regarding minors: temporary custody, counseling; awarding use of property|
|Duration of Order||Maximum 6 months, may be extended|
|Penalty for a Violation of Order||Contempt of court: imprisonment maximum 6 months and/or fine, maximum $500|
|Who May Apply for Order||Any parent; adult household member, parent or district attorney on behalf of minor or incompetent|
|Can Fees Be Waived?||Paid by perpetrator|
|Order Transmission to Law Enforcement||Copy of Uniform Abuse Protection Order to chief law enforcement official of parish where protected persons reside, by end of next business day after filing; Louisiana Protective Order Registry no later than next business day.|
|Civil Liability for Violation of Order||Contempt of court|
Note: State laws are constantly changing -- contact an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Research the Law:
- Official State Codes - Links to the official online statutes (laws) in all 50 states and DC.
Related Resources for Protective Orders Laws: