What Are the OUI Laws in Maine?

Driving under the influence (called operating under the influence (OUI) in Maine) is a serious criminal offense. Each state's DUI law varies slightly, so it is important to find out which specific acts constitute a DUI in your state.

In Maine, operating under the influence is a broad crime that makes it illegal to operate a vehicle while under the influence of intoxicants. Intoxicants can be alcohol, drugs, or anything else that impairs your ability to drive safely. The chart below provides a brief outline of Maine's DUI law.

Code Section

Maine Revised Statutes section 2411: Criminal OUI (Operating Under the Influence)

What's Prohibited?

Operating a motor vehicle:
  • While under the influence of intoxicants, or
  • While having a BAC (blood alcohol concentration) of 0.08% or greater

Penalties

OUI penalties vary depending on whether or not the offender was convicted of any OUI offenses within the previous 10 years:
  • No previous OUI offenses: Punishable by a fine of at least $500, suspension of the offender's driver's license for 150 days, and incarceration for at least 48 hours.
  • One previous OUI offense: Punishable by a fine of at least $700, suspension of the driver's license for three years, incarceration for at least seven days, and suspension of the offender's right to register a motor vehicle.
  • Two previous OUI offenses: Punishable by a fine of at least $1,100, suspension of the offender's driver's license for six years, incarceration for at least 30 days, and suspension of the offender's right to register a motor vehicle.
  • Three or more previous OUI offenses: Punishable by a fine of at least $2,100, suspension of the driver's license for eight years, incarceration for at least six months, and suspension of the offender's right to register a motor vehicle.

Zero Tolerance

Because the legal drinking age in Maine is 21, there is a zero tolerance policy for drivers who are under 21. This means that while driving with a 0.08% blood alcohol concentration is illegal for all drivers, driving with a blood alcohol concentration of anything over 0.00% is a violation of the state's OUI law for drivers who are under age 21.

Ignition Interlock Devices

When an offender's driving privileges are reinstated after having been suspended due to an OUI conviction, the offender's car must be outfitted with an ignition interlock device (IID). IIDs measure a driver's blood alcohol concentration and only allow the vehicle to be turned on if the driver hasn't been drinking.

Additional Resources

State laws change frequently. For case specific information regarding Maine's DUI laws contact a local DUI attorney.

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.