Massachusetts Heroin Laws
Heroin and other illicit narcotic drugs are illegal under federal and all state laws, although many states now offer drug diversion programs to help drug abusers get treatment in lieu of prison. Massachusetts heroin laws state that possession of the powerful opiate is a felony punishable by 2 years in prison and/or a $2,000 fine. Subsequent offenses call for 5-16 years behind bars.
The main provisions of Massachusetts' heroin laws are listed in the chart below. See FindLaw's Drug Charges section for related articles and resources.
|Code Section||Ch. 94c §1, et seq.|
|Possession||2 yrs. and/or $2000; Subsequent offense: 2.5-5 yrs. and/or $5000; Greater than 14 grams is trafficking|
|Sale||2-10 yrs. and/or $1000 to $10,000; Subsequent offense: 5-15 yrs. and/or $2500 to $25,000; 3rd offense: not less than 40 yrs.; Sale to minors or near school property: stricter penalties|
|Trafficking||14-28 g.: 5-20 yrs. and/or $5000 to $50,000; 28-100 g.: 7-20 yrs. and/or $5000 to $50,000; 100-200 g.: 10-20 yrs. and/or $10,000 to $100,000; Over 200 g.: 15-20 yrs. and/or $50,000 to $500,000|
Note: State laws are constantly changing -- contact a Massachusetts criminal defense attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Research the Law:
- Official State Codes - Links to the official online statutes (laws) in all 50 states and DC.
Related Resources for Heroin Laws: