Michigan Homestead Laws
Homestead laws allow homeowners and property owners in general to register a limited parcel of their property as a "homestead," and thus protected from creditors. State homestead laws typically mandate a maximum amount of property (often expressed in dollar amounts) that may be claimed. Michigan homestead laws allow 40 acres of rural land or an average-sized urban lot (up to $3,500 worth) to be set aside as a homestead.
To learn more about Michigan homestead laws and related matters, see the following table and links.
|Max. Property Value That May Be Designated 'Homestead'||$3,500 realty, $1,000 trade tools|
|Maximum Acreage (Urban)||Lot|
|Maximum Acreage (Rural)||40 acres|
Note: State laws are constantly changing -- contact a Michigan real estate attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Research the Law
- Michigan Law
- Official State Codes - Links to the official online statutes (laws) in all 50 states and DC.
Michigan Homestead Laws: Related Resources