Minnesota Adoption Laws
Adopting a child involves a number of often-complicated procedures and requirements, such as background checks, interviews, and matching children with prospective parents. As with other family-related legal matters, adoption is regulated at the state level. State adoption laws don't differ too much, but the process itself is unique to each state and requires close scrutiny. Also, the profound emotional component of adopting a child into your home cannot be overstated.
An Overview of Minnesota's Adoption Laws
The state of Minnesota allows any individual to be adopted, while children 14 and older must consent to the adoption in writing. In order to adopt a child, you must have lived in the state for at least one year. However, this requirement may be reduced to 30 days or waived altogether if it's in the child's best interests. Minnesota also requires a three-month home residency before the adoption is finalized; but this, too, may be waived by the court in some circumstances.
Adults also may be adopted in Minnesota by giving written consent to the prospective parent, which establishes the right to inherit.
The main provisions of Minnesota's adoption laws are listed below. See FindLaw's Adoption section for more articles and resources.
|Code Section||259.20, et seq.|
|Who May Be Adopted||Any person|
|Age that Child's Consent Needed||14 years and older|
|Who May Adopt||Any person who has resided in the state for more than one year, unless length of residence is reduced to 30 days in child's best interest or waive it altogether.|
|Home Residency Required Prior to Finalization of Adoption?||3 months; may be waived by court|
|State Agency/Court||Human Services/Juvenile|
|Statute of Limitations to Challenge||Not specified|
Note: State laws are constantly changing -- contact a Minnesota family law attorney specializing in adoption or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
How Do I Adopt in Minnesota?
The Minnesota Department of Human Services provides a number of resources for individuals wishing to adopt, including a list of children in need of adoptive parents, a list of licensed adoption agencies, adoptive parent training, and more. To get started, contact your local county social service agency or call MN ADOPT at (612) 861-7115. The agency also provides an A-to-Z list of adoption forms for downloading.
Research the Law
- Minnesota Law
- Official State Codes - Links to the official online statutes (laws) in all 50 states and DC.
Minnesota Adoption Laws: Related Resources