Minnesota Car Accident Report Basics

After a car accident, there are a lot of things to think about. First, there are the immediate concerns about safety and well being. After that has been established, the focus shifts to concerns about the damage done to your vehicle and who is responsible for paying for the repairs. Also, you might also appear to be physically unaffected by the crash, but may discover injuries later. Again, you are concerned with the costs of your medical bills. If you are involved in a car accident, then you may be impacted by Minnesota's no fault insurance laws.

However, there is a lot more to know about the law when you have been in a Minnesota car collision. In this article, you will not only learn about Minnesota's comprehensive no fault insurance laws, but what actions to take after you are involved in a car accident and how to report it to the police and/or state if necessary.

Filing a Report in Minnesota

You do not always have to file a car crash report in Minnesota. The state laws designate certain factors that require reporting the accident; in those specific incidents, you must report the accident to the Minnesota Department of Public Safety. Although you are not required to do so after every car accident, there are important details that you should know in order to understand how to file a car crash in Minnesota.

Minnesota Car Accident Report Overview

Below you will find key provisions of Minnesota's no fault insurance laws and instructions and additional information for filing a report.

Statutes

Minnesota Statutes Insurance (Ch. 59A- 79A) 65B.42 (Purpose)

Minnesota Statutes Insurance (Ch. 59A- 79A) 65B.46 (Right to Benefits)

Minnesota Statutes Transportation (Ch. 160- 174A) 169.09 (Cannot leave accident scene)

Mandatory Reporting

  • Purpose: The purpose of no fault insurance is to reduce the costs of insurance claims and litigation by not assigning blame for the accident and still ensuring that the damages will be paid.
  • Right to Benefits: If you are injured as a result of a car accident, you have a right to be compensated.
  • Cannot Leave Accident Scene: A driver cannot leave the scene of the accident if it is reasonable that the accident resulted in injury or death.

You must report the accident to the Minnesota Department of Safety in the following circumstances:

  • If the crash results in bodily injury
  • If the crash results in death
  • The total property damage is $1000 or more

The report must be submitted within 10 days of the actual accident. You are still required to file a report even if the other driver offers to pay for your damages. If you do not report the accident within the deadline, there may be serious consequences including:

Penalties for Failure to Report

  • Suspension of your driver's license
  • Fines

Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.

Want More Information? Get a Free Attorney Match

If you have suffered injury after a car accident and cannot perform your duties at home or at work, then you should consult with an attorney about representing your interests. You can get started today with a free attorney match that will pair you with a Minnesota attorney. Then you can take the next steps in resolving your case.

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.