Are You a Legal Professional?

Minnesota Stalking Laws

Note: If you or someone you know is the victim of stalking or domestic violence, call you local police and the Minnesota Day One Crisis Hotline at 1-800-223-1111.

Stalking Laws in General

Stalking is not a one-time offense, as it's generally defined as a pattern of unwanted, malicious behavior that may involve excessive phone calls or surprise visits. For instance, someone who shows up at his ex-wife's new apartment to yell obscenities through the window three nights in a row, despite being told to stop, may be charged with stalking. All states have statutes prohibiting stalking, including Minnesota, which also make orders of protection available to stalking victims (who often are victims of domestic violence as well).

Minnesota Stalking Laws at a Glance

According to Minnesota statute, stalking is: to engage in conduct which the actor knows or has reason to know would cause the victim under the circumstances to feel frightened, threatened, oppressed, persecuted, or intimidated, and causes this reaction on the part of the victim regardless of [their] relationship.

The victim is not required to show proof that the alleged stalker meant to cause apprehension or fear in order to get an order of protection, only that his or her actions are consistent with stalking-like behavior.

Additional information about Minnesota stalking laws is listed in the following chart.

Code Section 609.749
Stalking Defined as Harassment: engage in intentional conduct which the actor knows/has reason to know victim would feel frightened, threatened, oppressed, persecuted, or intimidated and causes such reaction(s)
Punishment/Classification Gross misdemeanor. Felony: stalking based on race, color, religion, sex, sexual orientation, disability, or national origin; or stalking by falsely impersonating another or with a dangerous weapon; or stalks a victim under 18 and actor is more than 36 months older than victim. Note: if person stalked and used a firearm, court may order that person not possess any firearm between 3 years and life.
Penalty for Repeat Offense Felony: if repeat or has certain prior convictions within 10 years of discharge
Arrest or Restraining Order Specifically Authorized by Statute? -
Constitutionally Protected Activities Exempted? Yes, includes speech, handbilling, and picketing

Note: State laws are constantly changing -- contact a Minnesota criminal defense lawyer or domestic violence lawyer, or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.

Research the Law

Related Resources for Stalking Laws:

Next Step Search and Browse
Contact a qualified attorney.
(e.g., Chicago, IL or 60611)