Minnesota Wage and Hour Laws

We in the Land of 10,000 Lakes have always prided ourselves on giving 100% to our jobs. All we ask is a fair wage in return. Of course, we want to know that there are laws in place to ensure we get just compensation for the time we've put into our work. This is a brief introduction to wage and hour laws in Minnesota

Minimum Wage and Overtime in Minnesota

The minimum wage for Minnesota for employees of large companies and employees of small companies are different. Both rates will see incremental increases each year, as listed in the chart below. Certain employees, like executives, baby sitters, and volunteers, are exempt from the state's minimum wage laws. While some states have reduced minimum wages for employees who receive gratuities (tips), Minnesota requires a base wage for all employees. Overtime is calculated at 1.5 times the usual hourly rate once an employee works over 48 hours in one week.

Pay Day Requirements in Minnesota

Minnesota law requires employers to pay their employees at least once a month, via cash, check, direct deposit, a debit card, or deposit to a card account. Non-cash or check payments require prior employee consent and must abide certain statutory requirements.

Wage and Hour Statutes in Minnesota

A combination of state and federal labor laws cover both pay date requirements and minimum wage and overtime rates. Minnesota's wage and hour laws are highlighted in the following table.

Code Sections

Minimum Wage: MN Statutes §177.24

and Overtime Law: MN Statutes §177.25

Pay Day Frequency Requirements and Methods: MN Statutes §181 et seq.

Pay Day Requirements

At least once every 31 days

Method of Payment

Legal tender of the United States;

Check on banks convertible into cash on demand at full face value;

Except for instances of written objection to the employer by the employee, direct deposit to the employee's choice of demand deposit account; or

An electronic fund transfer to a payroll card account that meets all of the requirements of MN Statute 177.255, subject to allowances permitted by rules of the department under MN Statute 177.28.

Minimum Wage

Large employers (over $500,000 annual gross volume of sales):

$8.00 per hour beginning August 1, 2014;

$9.00 per hour beginning August 1, 2015;

$9.50 per hour beginning August 1, 2016; and

Small employers (under $500,000 annual gross volume of sales):

$6.50 per hour beginning August 1, 2014;

$7.25 per hour beginning August 1, 2015;

$7.75 per hour beginning August 1, 2016; and

Training wages (employees under 20 years old in first 90 days of employment):

$6.50 per hour beginning August 1, 2014;

$7.25 per hour beginning August 1, 2015;

$7.75 per hour beginning August 1, 2016.

Overtime Pay

1.5 times the usual hourly rate after 48 hours in a workweek

Employers Who Must Follow State Minimum Wage Laws

Any individual, partnership, association, corporation, business trust, or any person or group of persons acting directly or indirectly in the interest of an employer in relation to an employee.

Workers Not Covered Under State Minimum Wage Law

Bona fide executive, administrative or professional workers; Babysitters;

Volunteers of nonprofit organizations; and

Employees subject to the provisions of the U.S. Department of Transportation (drivers, drivers' helpers, mechanics and loaders).

Enforcement

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry

(651) 284-5070

Minnesota Wage and Hour Laws: Related Resources

Minnesota's wage and employment laws can be confusing, depending on your specific employment context. You can contact a Minnesota employment attorney if you would like legal assistance with and employment matter. You can also find additional information and resources on this topic in FindLaw's sections on Fair Wages FAQ, Exempt Employees, and the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA).

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.