Missouri Indecent Exposure Laws

In Missouri, it's illegal to expose your genitalia to others in public, thereby alarming them. While this crime is commonly referred to as indecent exposure, it's known as "sexual misconduct" in Missouri. As with other states, exposing your genitals to children brings on harsher penalties. The Missouri indecent exposure laws and their penalties are outlined in the table below.

Code Sections

In Missouri, sexual misconduct is a crime that's divided into three types with varying degrees of seriousness and accompanying penalties. The behaviors made illegal are:

Penalty Levels

Penalties vary depending on the defendant's conduct and other factors, including the age of the victim and any prior convictions:

  • Class C felony - sexual misconduct involving a child with a prior sex offense conviction
  • Class D felony - sexual misconduct involving a child without a prior sex offense conviction
  • Class A misdemeanor - 1st degree sexual misconduct with prior conviction
  • Class B misdemeanor - 1st degree sexual misconduct without a prior conviction
  • Class C misdemeanor - 2nd degree sexual misconduct

Penalties

Punishments for felonies and misdemeanors in Missouri vary by class. The crimes above are subject to the following penalties:

  • Class C felony - imprisonment for 7 years or less and up to a $5,000 fine
  • Class D felony - imprisonment for 4 years or less and up to a $5,000 fine
  • Class A misdemeanor - jail for 1 year or less and up to a $1,000 fine
  • Class B misdemeanor - jail for up to 6 months and up to a $500 fine
  • Class C misdemeanor - jail for up to 15 days and up to a $300 fine

Note: State laws are constantly changing -- contact a Missouri criminal defense attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.

Research the Law

Missouri Indecent Exposure Laws: Related Resources

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.