Are You a Legal Professional?

Montana Gun Control Laws

While the federal government has some limited regulations on firearms, gun control laws are primarily a state law issue. As such, gun control laws vary widely from one state to another.

Montana Gun Control Laws

Montana gun control laws are some of the most permissive in the country. A Montana resident does not need a registration, license, or permit to purchase or possess firearms.

A background check is not required when buying a firearm. Any person can go into a Montana retailer and purchase a firearm as long as he/she is not intoxicated or under the influence of a controlled substance. The only form of possession that is regulated in the state applies to children under the age of 14.

Concealed Weapons

Montana law allows people to carry concealed weapons if he or she has a valid Montana or out-of-state permit to do so. The application process is conducted at the local sheriff's office. A county sheriff will issue the permit within 60 days following completion.

Requirements For A Concealed Weapons Permit

In order to obtain a concealed weapons permit, here are some of the requirements:

  • Must be a Montana resident for at least six (6) months;
  • Be a U.S. citizen;
  • Be at least 18 years old;
  • Completed weapons training courses;
  • Pay the application fee.

Can a Non-Resident Carry a Concealed Weapon?

Montana recognizes concealed weapons permits from some other states. Non-residents must meet the following criteria to carry a concealed weapon in Montana:

  • The permit holder must have photo identification;
  • The state that issued their permit must require a criminal records background check before issuing a permit;
  • The permit must be in the holder’s possession.

The basics of Montana's gun control laws are listed below. See Details on State Gun Control Laws for more information.

Code Section 45-8-301, et seq.
Illegal Arms Sawed-off rifle or shotgun; machine guns except registered and on own property; silencer.
Waiting Period For Gun Purchase None
State Laws Governing Private Firearms Sales Montana law does not regulate the private sales of firearms, but federal law does.
Concealed Weapons Permit Requirement
  • 18 years of age,
  • Resident of Montana for at least six (6) months,
  • One (1) form of valid identification
Who May Be Denied a Concealed Weapons Permit Persons with a history of drug abuse, convictions, or an incomplete status in mandatory weapons training.
Penalties for Failing to Obtain a Concealed Weapons Permit
  • Fine of up to $500;
  • Maximum of six (6) months in jail, or both;
  • Second conviction can incur a fine of up to $1,000, up to five (5) years in prison, or both.
Misc Laws Montana has a preemption law that prevents municipal or county governments from enacting gun laws more restrictive than state law.

Note: Montana gun laws are constantly changing--contact a Montana criminal law attorney, or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.

Research the Law:

Montana Gun Control Laws: Related Resources

Next Step Search and Browse
Contact a qualified attorney.
(e.g., Chicago, IL or 60611)