Nebraska Marriage License and Blood Test Requirements

Getting married to the man or woman of your dreams may sound wonderful, but figuring out marriage license requirements can sometimes be difficult. Fortunately, Nebraska has only a few requirements that must be met in order to obtain a marriage license.

In Nebraska, you must be 19 years of age or older. If you are a 17-18 years of age, you must have notarized, written consent from either parent if the parents reside together, the parent having legal custody if the parents are separated, the surviving parent if one parent is deceased, the legal guardian or other person having custody, or a written affidavit from the person seeking to marry if none of the above apply.

It is important to note that the minor loses his or her minority upon marriage. There are no residency or blood test requirements in Nebraska. The following is a quick summary of Nebraska's marriage license and blood test requirements.

Nebraska's Marriage License and Blood Test Requirements

The following table outlines Nebraska's marriage license and blood test requirements.

Code Sections NEB. REV. STAT. ยง 42-102 et seq.
Where to Obtain a License

County Clerk Office

Age Requirements

19 years of age or older.

Minors 17-18 years of age must have notarized, written consent from one parent if the parents reside together, the parent having legal custody if the parents are separated, the surviving parent if one parent is deceased, the legal guardian or other person having custody, or a written affidavit from the person seeking to marry if none of the above apply. The minor loses his or her minority upon marriage.

Residency Requirement No.
Identification Requirements

Proof of full name, residence, and the place, date, and year of birth of both parties.

Blood Test Requirement No.
Other Requirements Interestingly, Nebraska law states that persons with venereal diseases may not marry.
How Long is the License Valid? 1 year.
Same Sex Marriage No.
Fees Currently $15.
Who Can Preside Over the Ceremony?

A judge, retired judge, clerk magistrate, retired clerk magistrate, or preacher authorized to solemnize marriages by the church to which he or she belongs.

Waiting Period? No.

Nebraska Marriage License Requirements: Related Resources

If you need legal assistance with a marriage issue, you may want to contact a Nebraska family law attorney. You can also visit Findlaw's sections on Marriage Law Overview, Can Prenuptial Agreements Help You?, Tips for Marriage and Marriage FAQs for more articles and information on this topic.

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.