Nevada Civil Statute of Limitations Laws

Your fender bender on I-80 was a couple months ago, but your neck is still hurting. Or perhaps it’s been 13 months since the accident and now you realize the repair shop didn’t fix your car correctly. Do you have a legal claim against anyone for damages at this point? And, if so, what is the deadline for filing the case in court? Each state has their own laws limiting the available time between an incident and when you can file a civil suit. This is a brief overview of civil statute of limitation laws in Nevada.

Civil Statutes of Limitation

State laws dictate how long a potential plaintiff has to file a civil lawsuit. This time period is called the "statute of limitations." These time limits often vary from state to state. You may have more and less time to file suit depending on which side of the state line you are in. The statute of limitations can also vary by the type of claim. Nevada's civil statute of limitations allows two years for personal injuries; up to four years for rent collection claims; and 6 years for judgments.

The following chart lists Nevada's civil statute of limitations laws. See Time Limit Considerations in Medical Malpractice Claims to learn more.

Injury to Person 2 yrs. §11.190-(4)(c)
Libel/Slander 2 yrs. §11.190-(4)(c)
Fraud 3 yrs. §11.190-(3)(d)
Injury to Personal Property 3 yrs. §11.190-(3)(c)
Professional Malpractice Accountant, Attorney, Veterinarian: 4 yrs.; Medical: 2 yrs. after discovery or 4 yrs. after act §11.207 and §41A.097
Trespass 3 yrs. §11.190(3)(b)
Collection of Rents 4 yrs. §11.220
Contracts Written: 6 yrs. §11.190(1)(b); Oral: 4 yrs. §11.190-(2)(c)
Collection of Debt on Account 4 yrs. §11.190-(2)(a)
Judgments 6 yrs. §11.190(1)(a)

Note: State laws are constantly changing -- contact a Nevada attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.

Research the Law:

Related Resources for Nevada Civil Statute of Limitations Laws:

Wait Too Long and Time Can Run Out

You may have a very good legal claim for damages, but if you don’t file your lawsuit within the required statutory limit, it may not matter. You can also visit FindLaw’s section on Statute of Limitations in Civil Cases for more general information on this topic. 

Next Step: Contact an Nevada Attorney for a Free Case Review

Nevada's civil statute of limitations often depends on the nature of your claim. A good attorney can plead the right cause of action that doesn't violate Nevada's statute of limitations and that will ensure you receive your maximum compensation. If you are dealing with a personal injury matter that needs legal attention, it's in your best interests to contact a Nevada injury attorney for a free claim evaluation.

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.