New Hampshire Tenant Rights Laws

Many of us will be parties to residential leases at some point in our lives, and unfortunately it's not uncommon to occasionally disagree with a landlord. Whether it's about the return of a security deposit, an increase in rent, or repairs to the unit, landlords and tenants have to navigate quite a lot together. Fortunately, every state has passed laws protecting your rights as a tenant.

New Hampshire Tenants Rights Laws at a Glance

New Hampshire law governs the landlord/tenant relationship, and it's a good idea to be familiar with your rights and obligations as a tenant. For example, New Hampshire law sets forth the circumstances when a landlord can evict you for failing to pay rent, and how much advance notice you must be provided. New Hampshire also requires your landlord to give you advanced notice if they raise your rent.

The law also defines your landlord's legal responsibilities, such as providing you with a safe and sanitary living environment and complying with housing codes. In addition, landlords may not discriminate against you on the basis of your race, religion, gender, or other classification. What's more, it's against New Hampshire law for your landlord to evict you or otherwise retaliate against you because you exercised your legally protected rights.

The below chart provides more detail about New Hampshire tenants' rights laws.

Statutes

New Hampshire Statutes Chapter 540

Security Deposits

  • Landlord who owns more than six units can't charge more than one month's rent or $100, whichever is greater, as a security deposit
  • Landlord must return security deposit or itemized list of deductions within 30 days of tenant move-out

Paying Rent

  • Landlord must provide at least 30 days' notice before raising rent
  • Tenant has a seven day grace period to pay overdue rent before landlord can file for eviction

Living Conditions

  • Landlord is responsible for providing tenant with safe and sanitary living environment
  • Landlords must comply will all housing codes and local ordinances
  • After providing adequate notice, tenants can withhold rent if landlord fails to make important repairs
  • Landlord must provide "adequate notice" to tenant before entering unit

Discrimination

  • New Hampshire law prohibits landlord discrimination on the basis of race, religion, national origin, sex, familial status, or physical or mental disability

Ending or Renewing a Tenancy

  • Landlord can end lease for failure to pay rent, substantial damage caused to unit, behavior that affects health and safety of others, violation of lease, or other good cause
  • If tenant fails to pay rent, landlord can evict after providing seven days' notice
  • All other grounds for eviction require 30 days' notice

Retaliation

  • It's illegal for a landlord to evict a tenant in retaliation for exercising legal rights

Note: State regulations are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.

Related: New Hampshire Tenants' Rights Resources

Get a Free Evaluation of Your Landlord/Tenant Case

You don't have to struggle alone. If you have tried negotiating with your landlord and are not getting results, it may be time for professional legal help. An experienced attorney can give you guidance on how to resolve your issues. FindLaw can help match you with a landlord/tenant lawyer for your free case evaluation.

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.