New Jersey Gun Control Laws
The federal government has limited control over the ownership and use of firearms, so state gun control laws tend to vary quite a bit. Like most other states, New Jersey prohibits the sale and ownership of sawed-off shotguns, silencers, and armor penetrating bullets. Additionally, New Jersey gun control laws mandate a 30-day waiting period for handguns (45 days for non-residents), while those convicted of most felonies may not own firearms in the state.
The main provisions of New Jersey gun control laws are listed in the table below. See Details on State Gun Control Laws to learn more.
|Code Section||2C:39-1, et seq.; 2C:58-1, et seq.|
|Illegal Arms||Sawed-off shotgun, silencer; imitation firearm (intended for unlawful use); defaced firearms; armor penetrating bullets; stun guns; machine guns or assault firearms if unlicensed|
|Waiting Period||30 days resident; 45 days nonresident (handguns)|
|Who May Not Own||1. Convicted of aggravated assault, arson, burglary, escape, extortion, homicide, kidnapping, robbery, aggravated sexual assault, or sexual assault or any order prohibiting possession of firearms; 2. Committed for mental disorder unless satisfactory proof he no longer suffers from a disorder which interferes or handicaps him in handling a firearm; 3. Convicted of unlawful use, possession, or sale of controlled dangerous substance; 4. Minors under 18; 5. Drug dependent; 6. Physical defect which makes it unsafe for him to handle firearms|
|Law Prohibiting Firearms On or Near School Grounds||Misdemeanor. 2C:39-5e|
Note: State laws are constantly changing -- contact a New Jersey criminal defense attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Research the Law
- New Jersey Law
- Official State Codes - Links to the official online statutes (laws) in all 50 states and DC.
New Jersey Gun Control Laws: Related Resources