New Jersey Leases and Rental Agreements Laws
All states regulate the relationship between landlords and tenants to some extent, including limits on security deposits and anti-discrimination laws. According to New Jersey lease and rental agreement laws, landlords are limited to asking for one-month's rent for a security deposit, which must be returned within 30 days of lease termination. Additionally, the state prohibits discrimination against tenants on the basis of "affectionate or sexual orientation."
The details of New Jersey lease and rental agreement laws are listed in the box below. See FindLaw's Landlord Tenant Law section for additional articles and state-specific resources.
|Code Section||46:8-10; 46:8-21.1, 2|
|Terms of Leases||Holdover converts to month-to-month tenancy absent agreement to the contrary|
|Deposits||Limit 1 ? months rent; interest on deposit required; any damages subtracted from deposit must be itemized and balance of deposit must be returned within 30 days of termination|
|Discrimination||No discrimination on basis of race, creed, color, national origin, ancestry, age, disability, marital status, affectionate or sexual orientation, familial status, or sex; retirement communities exempted|
|Uniform Residential Landlord & Tenant Act Adopted?||No|
Note: State laws are constantly changing -- contact a New Jersey landlord-tenant law attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Research the Law
- New Jersey Law
- Official State Codes - Links to the official online statutes (laws) in all 50 states and DC.
New Jersey Leases and Rental Agreements Laws: Related Resources