New Mexico Car Accident Report Basics

Car accidents can be a minor annoyance or a major disruption in your life. In the aftermath of a car accident, it can sometimes be confusing to understand your obligations as a motorist. If you have experienced a car accident in New Mexico, read on to learn more about how to file a car crash report in New Mexico.

Knowing When to Report a Car Accident

Each state has laws governing the reporting requirements and procedure for motorists following a car accident, and New Mexico is no exception. As explained in the chart below, your obligation to report an accident in New Mexico will depend on the circumstances of the incident. Depending on the amount of property damage and injury, you may be obligated to report the accident to state or local police and submit a written report to the New Mexico Department of Transportation.

There are certain circumstances where a police officer will also be obligated to prepare an accident report. In New Mexico, if a police officer responds to an accident and you as a motorist are legally required to report the accident, the police officer will also be obligated to forward a written police report to the department of transportation within 24 hours of the accident.

The below chart provides more information about filing a car accident report in New Mexico.

Statutes

New Mexico Statutes Sections 66-7-206, 66-7-207

When to Report

  • A driver involved in a car accident must report the crash if it results in:
    • Bodily injury or death of any person
    • Property damage to an apparent extent of $500

How to Report

  • A driver must report the accident "immediately, by the quickest means of communication"
  • If an accident occurs within a municipality, the driver should report the accident to the police
  • If the accident didn't occur within a municipality, the driver should report the accident to the New Mexico State Police
  • The driver must also file a written report with the New Mexico Department of Transportation within 5 days of the accident

Note: State regulations are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.

Related Resources

Get a Free Evaluation of Your Car Accident Case

If you are struggling after a car accident, know that you are not alone and there are resources available to you. Depending on the severity of your accident, you may want to get professional legal help. Learn more about your car accident claim by taking advantage of your free case evaluation with an experienced personal injury attorney.

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.