New Mexico Indecent Exposure Laws

In New Mexico, indecent exposure is prohibited and consists of knowingly and intentionally exposing one's genitals to the public. Also prohibited are indecent dancing and waitering which consist of exposing one's intimate parts while dancing or serving food or beverage in a place that is licensed to sell liquor such as a bar or restaurant. The following is a quick summary of New Mexico indecent exposure laws.

New Mexico Indecent Exposure Laws

The following table outlines indecent exposure laws in New Mexico.

Code Section NEW MEXICO STAT. ANN. ยง 30-9-14 et seq.
What is Prohibited?

Indecent exposure:

Knowingly and intentionally exposing one's genitals to the public.

Indecent dancing:

Knowingly and intentionally exposing one's intimate parts to the public while dancing or performing in a licensed liquor establishment or allowing such to happen the owner or agent of the licensed liquor establishment.

"Intimate parts" means the male or female genitals or female areola.

Indecent waitering:

Knowingly and intentionally exposing one's intimate parts to the public while serving beverage or food in a licensed liquor establishment or allowing such to happen the owner or agent of the licensed liquor establishment.

Aggravated indecent exposure:

Knowingly and intentionally exposing one's genitals to the public in a lewd and lascivious manner, with the intent of threatening or intimidating another person, while committing one of the following:

  • Exposing one's genitals to a child less than 18 years of age
  • Assault or aggravated assault
  • Assault with intent to commit a violent felony
  • Battery or aggravated battery
  • Criminal sexual penetration
  • Abuse of a child
Penalties

Indecent exposure is a misdemeanor punishable by up to 1 year in prison and up to $1,000 in fines.

Indecent dancing or waitering are petty misdemeanors punishable by up 6 months in prison and up to $500 in fines. The owner's liquor license may also be suspended or revoked.

Aggravated indecent exposure is a fourth-degree felony punishable by up 18 months in prison to and up to $5,000.

New Mexico Indecent Exposure Laws: Related Resources

If you have been charged with indecent exposure and would like help, you can contact a knowledgeable New Mexico sex crimes attorney. You can also read FindLaw's section on Indecent Exposure for more information on this topic.

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.