North Carolina Homestead Laws
Homestead laws allow homeowners to declare a limited portion of their property as a "homestead," thus sparing it from creditors in the event of a bankrputcy or other financial hardship. These laws originally were intended to protect families from losing their farms. North Carolina homestead laws don't specify an acreage limit, but allow up to $1,000 worth of property to be declared a homestead.
|Code Section||Const. Art. X, §2|
|Max. Property Value That May Be Designated 'Homestead'||$1,000|
|Maximum Acreage (Urban)||-|
|Maximum Acreage (Rural)||-|
Note: State laws are constantly changing -- contact a North Carolina real estate attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Research the Law
- North Carolina Law
- Official State Codes - Links to the official online statutes (laws) in all 50 states and DC.
North Carolina Homestead Laws: Related Resources