North Carolina Whistleblower Laws
Most states have laws that prohibit retaliation against employees (which may include termination or demotion) who report dangerous, unethical, or otherwise unsavory acts by the employer. These so-called "whistleblower" laws protect employees who otherwise might not step forward with important information. Unlike many other states, North Carolina whistleblower laws apply to employees of both public and private employers.
Learn more about North Carolina's whistleblower laws in the following table. See Whistleblower Retaliation Could Land You in Trouble for more details.
|Code Section||95-240, et seq.|
|Prohibited Employer Activity||Can not discriminate, discharge, suspend, demote or take other adverse action if employee or representative files claim, initiates an action or testifies on worker's compensation, OHSA, and wages or hours|
|Protection for Public or Private Employees?||Both|
|Opportunity for Employer to Correct?||-|
|Remedies||Can file complaint with Commission of Labor within 180 days of the incident; after 180 days, employee can request a right-to-sue letter, then can file civil action within 90 days of issuance of the right to sue and get injunction, reinstatement, full fringe benefits and seniority rights, back pay and benefits and reasonable attorney's fees. If court finds willful violation, can get treble damages|
Note: State laws are constantly changing -- contact a North Carolina whistleblower attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Research the Law
- North Carolina Law
- Official State Codes - Links to the official online statutes (laws) in all 50 states and DC.
North Carolina Whistleblower Laws: Related Resources