Ohio Adoption Laws
Adoption laws historically have varied from state to state, but are becoming more uniform. Ohio adoption laws allow any child and only certain adults to be adopted, while any unmarried adult, unmarried minor parent of adoptee, or married couple may adopt. Additionally, Ohio requires a six-month home residency prior to finalization of the adoption.
The following table lists the basics provisions of Ohio's adoption laws. To learn more, see FindLaw's Adoption section.
|Code Section||3107.01, et seq.; Yes|
|Who May Be Adopted||Any child; certain adults only.|
|Age that Child's Consent Needed||12 years and older|
|Who May Adopt||Unmarried adult; unmarried minor parent of adoptee; husband and wife (at least one of whom is adult) together, unless legally separated or under certain other circumstances.|
|Home Residency Required Prior to Finalization of Adoption?||6 months|
|State Agency/Court||Human Services/Probate|
|Statute of Limitations to Challenge||1 year|
Note: State laws are constantly changing -- contact an Ohio adoption attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Research the Law
- Ohio Law
- Official State Codes - Links to the official online statutes (laws) in all 50 states and DC.
Ohio Adoption Laws: Related Resources