Ohio Compulsory Education Laws
Children of a certain age range are required to enroll in some type of formal education, which may include private school or homeschooling. State compulsory education laws generally hold parents accountable for their children's schooling. Ohio compulsory education laws require children between the ages of six and 18 to attend school, with some exceptions.
The specifics of Ohio compulsory education laws are highlighted below. See FindLaw's Compulsory Education section to learn more.
|Code Section||3321.01, et seq.|
|Age at Which School Attendance is Required||Between 6 and 18|
|Exceptions to Attendance Requirements||Child received high school diploma; lawfully employed (if over 14 for necessary work); physical/mental condition does not permit attendance; child being instructed at home|
|Home School Provisions||Instructed by person qualified to teach in required branches; approval necessary by district superintendent; if challenged, a religious-based exemption must pass 3-pronged test: (1) Are religious beliefs sincere? (2) Will application of compulsory education law infringe on right to free exercise of religion? (3) Does the state have an overriding interest? Wisconsin v. Yoder, 406 U.S. 205 (1972) (adopted in Ohio in State v. Whisner 470 S.2d 181 (1976))|
|Penalties on Parents for Noncompliance||File complaint; required to give $500 bond conditioned that child will attend school; violation: up to $500 or 70 hrs. community service; upon refusal to pay fine, imprisonment 10 to 30 days|
Note: State laws are constantly changing -- contact an Ohio education attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Research the Law
- Ohio Law
- Official State Codes - Links to the official online statutes (laws) in all 50 states and DC.
Ohio Compulsory Education Laws: Related Resources