Are You a Legal Professional?

Ohio Heroin Laws

All states prohibit the sale, transfer, and possession of heroin and other illicit narcotics. Simple possession of a small amount of the drug can land you in prison for at least six months in Ohio, while selling heroin within 1,000 feet of a school (or within 100 feet of a minor) will result in more severe penalties. Most Ohio courts now offer probation instead of prison for first-time, minor drug offenders.

The main provisions of Ohio heroin laws are listed in the following chart. See FindLaw Drug Charges section to learn more.

Code Section 2925.01, et seq.; 3719.01, et seq.
Possession 5th degree felony; 1-5 g.: 4th degree felony; 5-10 g.: 3rd degree felony; 10-50 g.: 2nd degree felony; 50-250 g.: 1st degree felony; over 250 g.: 1st degree felony with mandatory maximum prison term
Sale 5th degree felony; 1-5 g.: 4th degree felony; 5-10 g.: 3rd degree felony; 10-50 g.: 2nd degree felony; 50-250 g.: 1st degree felony; over 250 g.: 1st degree felony with mandatory maximum prison term; Within 1000 ft. of school or within 100 ft. of juvenile: more severe penalties
Trafficking -

Note: State laws are constantly changing -- contact an Ohio drug crime attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.

Research the Law

Ohio Heroin Laws: Related Resources

Next Step Search and Browse
Contact a qualified attorney.
(e.g., Chicago, IL or 60611)