Texas Cocaine Laws
The possession of even a small amount of cocaine (less than 1 gram) is charged as a felony offense in Texas, where offenders may be sentenced to as many as two years in state prison. Possession of more than 200 grams of cocaine can land you in prison for up to 99 years. Still, some counties in Texas offer diversion programs for first-time cocaine offenders in exchange for having charges dropped.
The table below outlines some of the main provisions of Texas cocaine laws. See FindLaw's Drug Charges section for more information.
|Code Section||Health & Safety §§481.001, et seq.|
|Possession||Less than 1 g.: state jail felony; 1-4 g.: 3rd degree felony; 4-200 g.: 2nd degree felony; 200-400 g.: 1st degree felony; 400 g. and over: 10-99 yrs. or life at Texas Dept. of Criminal Justice institution and/or $100,000|
|Sale||Less than 1 g.: state jail felony; 1-4 g.: 2nd degree felony; 4-200 g.: 1st degree felony; 200-400 g.: Texas Dept. of Criminal Justice institution for life or 10-99 yrs. and/or $100,000; 400 g. and over: Texas Dept. of Criminal Justice institution for life or 15-99 yrs. and/or $250,000; Delivery to minor under 17 who is enrolled in school: 2nd degree felony; Within drug-free zone: penalties doubled|
Note: State laws are constantly changing -- contact a Texas criminal defense attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Research the Law
- Texas Law
- Official State Codes - Links to the official online statutes (laws) in all 50 states and DC.
Texas Cocaine Laws: Related Resources