Texas Leases and Rental Agreements Laws
State laws regulate the relationship betweeen landlords and tenants, including limits on security deposits and anti-discrimination laws. In Texas, leases and rental agreement laws place no limits on security deposits but requires landlords to return deposits (minus the amount used for cleaning and repairs) within 30 days of lease termination. Other than the usual anti-discrimination protections found under federal law, Texas also prohibits bias on the basis of familial status.
Learn more about Texas leases and rental agreement laws in the table below. For more information, see FindLaw's Rental and Lease Agreements section.
|Code Section||Prop. §§92.101, et seq.; Prop. 301.001, et seq.|
|Terms of Leases||Holdover implies an agreement between landlord and tenant; normally lease for 1 year will be implied absent express or implied contrary agreement (Barragan v. Munoz, 525 S.W. 2d 559 (1975))|
|Deposits||No limit on deposit; interest on deposit required; deposit must be returned within 30 days of termination|
|Discrimination||No discrimination on basis of race, color, religion, sex, familial status, national origin; housing for older persons exempted|
|Uniform Residential Landlord & Tenant Act Adopted?||No|
Note: State laws are constantly changing -- contact a Texas landlord / tenant attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Research the Law
- Texas Law
- Official State Codes - Links to the official online statutes (laws) in all 50 states and DC.
Texas Leases and Rental Agreements Laws: Related Resources