Utah Cocaine Laws

Nobody will mistake the Beehive State for South Beach when it comes to the prevalence of drugs and the crime that comes with it, and that’s certainly a good thing. But Utah authorities take drug trafficking just as seriously as any other state and crack down heavily on cocaine sale and possession. Both are felonies under state law, and are designed to combat the increase of violence that can accompany the manufacturing, trafficking, and use of cocaine. This is an introduction to cocaine laws in Utah.

State Cocaine Laws

Under federal drug regulations, cocaine is listed as a Schedule I narcotic, meaning the federal government and every state criminalize cocaine possession, sale, and trafficking. However, state cocaine laws can vary in terms of penalties. A conviction for selling cocaine in Utah could result in a 15-year prison sentence and $10,000 in fines. Even simple cocaine possession could mean 5 years in prison, depending on the amount and whether you have prior drug convictions.

Cocaine Statutes in Utah

The table below lists Utah's cocaine statutes.

Code Section

Utah Code 58-37, et. seq.: Utah Controlled Substances Act

Possession

3rd degree felony;

Subsequent offense: one degree greater penalty than provided

Sale

2nd degree felony;

Subsequent offense: 1st degree felony;

Within 1000 ft. of school or to minor: one degree more than provided except 1st degree is mandatory 5 yrs.

Trafficking

-

As noted above, cocaine is a controlled substance under federal narcotics laws, which prohibit everything from simple possession of cocaine all the way up to cocaine manufacturing and cultivation, as well as trafficking and distribution. And federal drug crime penalties can be severe if you are found guilty of possession or sale of cocaine across state lines. That said, some state jurisdictions have begun deferring drug charges to specialized “drug courts” that can give some defendants the opportunity to commit to drug treatment programs instead of lengthy jail sentences. The state’s criminal court system runs Drug Courts in Utah.

Related Resources for Utah Cocaine Laws

Drug laws can be confusing and the penalties severe. If you would like legal assistance regarding a drug crime matter, you can consult with a Utah drug crime attorney. You can also find additional articles and information by visiting FindLaw's section on Drug Charges. If you think you or someone you know may have a drug or substance abuse problem, Utah's Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health has resources that can help.

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.