In Utah, it is a crime to engage in prostitution (having sex for money), solicitation (patronizing a prostitute), aiding prostitution, or pimping (exploitation of prostitution). Penalties are enhanced if the person used force, threat, or fear while pimping or if the prostitute was a child. The following is a brief summary of Utah prostitution and solicitation laws.
Utah Prostitution and Solicitation Laws
The following table outlines prostitution and solicitation laws in Utah.
|Code Sections||UTAH CODE ANN. §76-10-1302 et seq.|
|What is Prohibited?||
Engaging in sex for pay, serving as an inmate in a house of prostitution, or loitering/being within view of a public place for the purpose of being hired to engage in sexual activity
Patronizing a prostitute:
Paying, offering, or agreeing to pay for sex or entering or remaining in a house of prostitution for the purpose of engaging in sexual activity
Soliciting a person to patronize a prostitute, procuring or attempting to procure a prostitute for a patron, leasing or permitting a place to be used for or promotion of prostitution, providing any service or committing any act which enables or facilitates prostitution, and soliciting, receiving, or agreeing to receive a benefit for committing any of the above
Pimping (a.k.a. exploiting prostitution):
Procuring an inmate for or securing a space in a house of prostitution, encouraging, inducing, or purposely causing another to become or remain a prostitute, transporting, procuring, or paying for transportation of a person into and within the state for prostitution purposes, sharing in prostitution proceeds, owning, controlling, managing, supervising, or keeping a house of prostitution or prostitution business
It is aggravated exploitation of prostitution if the person uses force, threat, or fear to do any of the above, the above prostitute is a child, or in the course of exploiting prostitution, the person committed human trafficking or smuggling.
Prostitution, patronizing a prostitute, and aiding prostitution are Class B misdemeanors punishable by up to 6 months in prison and up to $1,000 in fines. A second or subsequent offense of prostitution or aiding prostitution is a Class A misdemeanor punishable by up to 1 year in prison and up to $2,500 in fines.
Patronizing a child prostitute and exploiting prostitution are third-degree felonies punishable by up to 5 years in prison and up to $5,000 in fines.
Aggravated exploitation of prostitution is a second-degree felony punishable by up to 15 years in prison and up to $10,000 in fines. However, if the prostitute was a child, it is a first-degree felony punishable by up to life imprisonment and up to $10,000 in fines.
Utah Prostitution and Solicitation Laws: Related Resources
If you're charged with prostitution or a prostitution related offense, you may want to consult with a Utah criminal defense attorney. You can also visit FindLaw's sections on Prostitution, Solicitation, and Pimping and Pandering Laws for more articles and information on these topics.
Contact a qualified attorney.